Happy Music For Happy People

I realised that a lot of the music I like to listen to, and a lot of the stuff I post on this blog is quite depressing/angry music. And if you talk to anyone who knows me, I’m sure they’ll tell you I’m not an angry or depressed person. It’s just what I dig. But I also like a lot of really uplifting, upbeat bands and songs too. It’s very rare to hear a song that just gives you that feeling that everything is good with the world and you could just dance for the fuck of it. That’s my definition of a happy song. I’m sure you have yours.

I’m gonna share some songs that really put a smile on my face. I hope they do the same for you.

Band Of Horses – The General Specific

One of my favourite bands, BOH have a sunny disposition generally, and this is their most joyful composition, complete with nonsensical lyrics. This was the first song I heard by them, by stumbling by random upon it on a blog that now escapes me. This song is audio crack for me. It’s gold soundz!

Delta Spirit – Trashcan

A bit of a cult act in the states, Delta Spirit are a severely underrated group who plough the same roots-rock as BOH, but with a more pop and less rock feel generally. This song breezes by, exploding into an impossibly wide eyed chorus (“My love is comin’ I can’t barely hardly wait/My heart is thumping I can feel more with every beat!”)

The Clash – Rudie Can’t Fail

Is their a more reckless, happy-go-lucky song ever recorded? Maybe not. If you haven’t heard this song before, then seriously, what the fuck have you been listening to? Just hit it. As Joe instructs Mick Jones to “Sing, Michael, sing!”, surely you shall do the same. I guarantee it.

Feist – Mushaboom

A beautiful song that does what all the best pop music should, sound both happy and sad at the same time. But the overall feel of this tune combined with the charming lyrics is optimism and good-hearted kindness. It doesn’t hurt that Leslie Feist’s voice is as light as it is. Awesome tune.

Graham Coxon – You & I

My god, does Coxon have a way with a pop-punk tune. This is an incredibly addictive pop song from the Blur guitarist best known for penning Blur’s own pop masterpiece, Coffee & TV. And it’s just insanely bouncy.

I hope these tunes made you feel good. If they didn’t, you may be dead inside!

2 responses

  1. I like depressing music as well, even though I’m quite a happy person. I wonder if it works the other way around?

    March 30, 2010 at 9:48 am

  2. italianplumber

    I think if your generally optimistic, then you can indulge in depressing music because you can enjoy the melancholy feeling without being actually affected by it.

    But if your depressed and you listen to, say, Joy Division…….god help you.

    March 30, 2010 at 10:05 pm

Leave a Reply

