A Smiths Primer

Upon celebrating my birthday this weekend, my good friend had some quite unbelievable news for me: he wasn’t overly familiar with the Smiths. Make no mistake, they are a love them/hate them kind of band, but to not have an opinion? This must be rectified immediately. And so here is a basic list of Morrissey and Marr’s greatest and most recognisable songs. These are the ones that defined the band and made them the influential musical force they are today. The biggest problem for a lot of people is Morrissey. But once you accept him, and concentrate on the band rather than it’s figurehead, much like 80’s peers Joy Division, they are far easier to like.

And I know, there are some emissions; there is no Girlfriend In A Coma, William, It Was Really Nothing, and somehow I didn’t include the unbelieveable beauty that is Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me, amongst many others. Bear in mind these are not the band’s greatest hits per se, but these are the ones that, for me, really reflect the many moods and styles that this extraordinary band were capable of.

Enjoy, Jamie.

The Smiths: A Primer

  1. Panic
  2. The Boy With The Thorn In His Side
  3. This Charming Man
  4. Frankly Mr Shankly
  5. Ask
  6. Bigmouth Strikes Again
  7. I Know It’s Over
  8. Cemetery Gates
  9. Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now
  10. Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want
  11. How Soon Is Now?
  12. There Is A Light That Never Goes Out

Bookmark and Share

2 responses

  1. Happy birthday 🙂

    I love The Smiths but know a lot of people who can’t stand them. A few of my friends only know “how soon is now” and that’s only because it was used on Charmed, which I find quite sad.

    I find Morissey quite annoying but at the same time I quite like him.

    February 2, 2010 at 9:02 am

    • italianplumber

      Thanks!

      Yeah they really define that ‘love them or hate them’ genre that some bands fall under.

      To be honest, Morrissey is a bit of a idiot, but I prefer my rock frontmen to be unique and honest rather than just another faceless clone. Plus, he is pretty funny!

      February 2, 2010 at 6:28 pm

Leave a Reply

