My Formative Albums Of The 00’s: No. 9: Queens Of The Stone Age – Songs For The Deaf

Songs For The Deaf changed the way I listened to music. Before, I had never been into a band as cool or heavy as the Queens and as a result was taken prisoner by their sexy sounds. Like most people, the No One Knows sngle was my way in to the rest of the album, which paved the way for me to look back and discover Rated R and their S/T. I then assaulted myself with desert-friendly sounds like Masters Of Reality, Kyuss and Mondo Generator. It was awesome. I stumbled upon a trend of music that was seperated from the mainstream and was actually, well, cool.

If you havent heard this album all I can do is plead with you to listen to it. It will cdhange your life. That is all.

Queens Of The Stone Age -A Song For The Dead (Live @ the Mean Fiddiler)

Queens Of The Stone Age – Another Love Song (Live @ Ancienne Belgique)

Bookmark and Share

3 responses

  1. This album was a big one for me as well. I borrowed it from the library when I was about 12 because I liked “No one Knows” and it soon became one of my favourites, despite the fact that I still listened to Matchbox 20 at the time. It’s one of my early musical favourites that I still like, unlike my collection of s club 7 singles…

    January 9, 2010 at 10:24 am

    • S Club 7? Matchbox 20? The fact that you have an image of Daria as you pic has saved you from a torrent of insults!

      January 9, 2010 at 8:30 pm

  2. I know. It’s terribly embarassing.

    January 17, 2010 at 9:32 am

Leave a Reply

