My Formative Albums Of The 00’s: No 7: Biffy Clyro – Vertigo Of Bliss No.8: Idlewild – The Remote Part

Since I’m a lazy arsehole and this list is taking too long, i’m gonna lump some albums together in single posts from now on. And yes, it’s my blog, I can do what I frakkin’ please. The only reason for throwing these two long-players in together was the simple fact that they are both releases by Scottish bands. Being Scottish myself (no, not italian) they hold an extra special place in my heart. I was ahuge fan of both albums in my youth, and have seen both bands play live numerous times and these two albums represent the heyday of both groups.

Ignoring the fact they have now turned into a sort of Foo Fighters on acid (I still love them though), Vertigo Of Bliss represents the most confident and accomplished the band ever got. This was before frontman Simon Neil’s mothers death and the band were headstrong and unheeded. Reportedly recorded in just one day (leaving the band to fuck about on Playstation the rest of the time) VOB proved to be a huge step up from their wet-behind-the-ears debut Blackened Sky. The bands songwriting was much more adventurous this time around, with songs going through four and sometimes five or more musical suites, without the extended silences/mad noises that prog rock used for years to separate them.

In fact, the band transformed so drastically from their debut that it was sometimes difficult to paint them as the same guys. Blackened Sky was a Nirvana-aping pop-rock gem, full of dark melodies and loud choruses. Bliss is where they realised they didn’t want to be like their favourite bands, they wanted to be their favourite band. It’s a headtrip of a listen, but worth it. And it sounds almost nothing like Puzzle or Only Revolutions. Check the video for Eradicate The Doubt and relive the good times.

Many would argue that 100 Broken Windows is the better album, and they would perhaps be right. But my personal favourite Idlewild album has to be The Remote Part. The main memory of the record is Roddy telling a story that they wrote the songs in a farmhouse in the Highlands somewhere, and my listening to it over and over in my house during winter, when the wind and snow and rain pelted outside. It warms my wee heart to remember that time. Here is the video for A Modern Way Of Letting Go. I like to think the house in the video is the one they wrote the songs in.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

