My Formative Albums Of The 00’s No.2: Radiohead – Kid A

It’s hard to talk about Kid A without mentioning OK Computer. Radiohead ploughed a completely different road in the 90’s to that of their britpop peers, and their experimental leanings came to a head with their 1997 masterpiece of social decay and alienation. Then they decided to get really fucking intense and depressing.  If OK Computer was about pre-Y2K paranoia, then Kid A is about rebirth and death all at once.

Around the year 200, like any right minded individual I was a Radiohead fanatic. I listened to their back catalogue intensely, and was safe in the knowledge they could do no wrong. But nothing could prepare me for the utter single-mindnesses that was Kid A. The band famously couldn’t be arsed doing press for the album whatsoever, and naturally, it lent them an air of mystique that just made fans ache for new material even more.

And you know the rest. Game changing, electronic reinvention…..blah blah blah. I find it quite ironic that a band whose songs at this time seemed to be centred on the argument that technology will take over our lives and we will become irrelevant in the computer age (that’s an interesting point) were the ones who were lauded as embracing the future with their ‘pay what you will’ approach to the release of In Rainbows.

And what about the songs? What can I say that hasn’t been said a thousand times before by more learned individuals than myself? Of all the albums by a band I consider to be the greatest in the world, this is the album I go back to the most. That’s possibly the highest compliment I can pay it. I’m gonna post two of the greatest songs ever written and two of my favourites of all time. Just listen and enjoy:

Radiohead – How To Disappear Completley

Radiohead – Everything In It’s Right Place

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

