Biting Into Humbug’s Sweet, Dark Center

Arctic-Monkeys-Humbug-Cover-Art-Design

So Humbug has leaked! I’m so excited I could kick someone in the face. Since I’m going to see the Arctics at Pukkelpop in 20 days time, i’m stoked to get a few weeks listening time before seeing the tunes played live. I’m going to give you my thoughts on it, even though I know you really don’t care. Here we go!

My Propeller – Great intro. Little bursts of drums and guitar open the album. Alex is really crooning here, his voice is much deeper now. Lots of sexual imagery here – “my propeller wont spin and I cant get it started on my own,” Steady, big fella!

Crying Lightning – Still loving this tune. One thing I’m happy at is that the Monkeys didn’t release this too long before the album came out. I hate tiring of lead singles as I replay the album, but so far this is my favourite song on the record.

Dangerous Animals – First things first – Josh!!! Yes! This is soooo good.  Big sexy riff and more sex related chat. Alex is a horny bugger by the sounds of things. And I thought Favourite Worst Nightmare was shag-obsessed! “Lets make a mess, lioness’” Turner sings.  This is the first song with a big fat solo on there, and it’s quite satisfying. The way Alex spells out the title of the song has been the subject of much debate on the Monkeys’ forum, but I quite like it.

Secret Door – Were are in Mardy Bum/505/No Buses territory here. Alex crooning again. I must admit that just now the version I have is not living up to the performance that they gave on the live website. But I have the feeling this is a demo. The chorus vocals have a completely different feel to the verses.

Potion Approaching – More sexy, driving rock riffs here. Sounds like the whole band are singing backup vocals. The riff has a real swagger at the end.

Fire And The Thud – Queensy feel to this tune with the falsetto ‘oohs’. A mid-paced grower, I think.

Cornerstone – Warm acoustic feel to this one. Alex reminds me of Morrissey here, even though the song is about pulling girls in pubs. Once again, he creates a compelling, layered narrative within four minutes and weaves a cracking tale. Great song.

Dance Little Liar – Another spacey mid tempo song. It’s good – but I suspect it will take a little time to grow on me. That’s the way I felt about most of FWN, and I love that album now. The drums remind me of QOTSA’s Turning on the Screw. Loving the bonkers riffing at the end!

Pretty Visitors – Some synths open this song. Up tempo again. This song really showcases how different the band sound to Whatever People…. This song contains a huge metal riff and a mega chorus that has a kind of carnival theme to it.

Jewellers Hands – Some bizarre guitar effects here. There’s a real theatrical feel with this song. The way it builds a mood and turns in a lovely, wistful chorus.

And that’s it! I have only been listening a few days, but already songs are going up and down in my estimation. I cannot wait to hear these tunes played live. Roll on Pukkelpop! I’m not gonna post any MP3’s, as Domino are eating the faces of bloggers that post any.

But I will direct you to We All Want Someone To Shout For, where you can download the video of the live performance of album tracks (plus a cover of Nick Cave’s Red Right Hand that will will melt your face with it’s awesomeness) i talked about previously. Get it here.

Pre-order Humbug at Amazon.co.uk. I have!

Leave a Reply

