Being Frank

When I was younger I was a huge fan of Million Dead.

It was a good time for British heavy rock music. A slew of homegrown bands had emerged from all over the UK and were threatening to take over the world. Or, at least, that’s what it felt like at the time. Hundred Reasons, Biffy Clyro, Reuben, Hell Is For Heroes and Funeral For A Friend were all grinding away the memory of all the horrible nu-metal that had ruled heavy music for the past few years.

I was a part of a scene, and it felt great. Going to gigs with my friends was great and I have some great memories from that time. One of my favourites was seeing Million Dead at King Tuts. They were the first band that sang about politics that actually affected my life and helped me form my views on certain socio-political points. Also, they were fucking hardcore.

I met Frank Turner at the bar after the gig, and he was a nice guy. He had a few folk surrounding him and I was a shy kid, but I had a brief chat with him. I have no idea what was said as my memory of that night is fuzzy at best. But the feeling of the gig remains. It was amazing.

Frank is now gone solo and plays more acoustic, singer-songwritery material. Recently he was signed by Epitaph records in the US. You may scorn, but that now means that the label has both Turner and another of my major man-crushes, Tom Waits in their roster. Shit yes.

Everyone should listen to Frank Turner. He’s smart, can sing, writes great folk songs and his live shows are a great piss up/singalong. Do yourself a favour and buy his albums, you wont regret it.

He is on tour with The Offspring (!) just now, and the video updates at his blog are an excellent document of his eventful life on tour. Check them out here.

MP3:

Frank Turner – Reasons Not To Be An Idiot

Leave a Reply

